Junior League of Washington Announces 2018-2019 Board of Directors

League Elects First African American and Woman of Color to President in the Organization’s 106-year History

WASHINGTON, DC –  The Junior League of Washington (JLW) on Friday welcomed its 2018-2019 Board of Directors. This team of female leaders includes JLW’s 80th President Tycely Williams. Williams is the first African American and woman of color to be elected or serve in this role in the League’s history, after also making history over the last year as the League’s first African-American President-Elect.

“Working alongside this extraordinary group of civic leaders to advance the Junior League of Washington’s charitable mission is a supreme privilege,” Williams said. “I am honored to be the first woman of color elected to this position. I look forward to exploring new ways to highlight and champion diversity within the Junior League of Washington. We are eager to demonstrate how diverse leadership and cultural competence can strengthen our service in Washington, DC.”

In late 2017, JLW announced the creation of a Diversity & Inclusion Taskforce and adopted a new Diversity & Inclusion statement. In early 2018, the taskforce presented its initial recommendations on ways to increase inclusion and better embrace diversity within the League. Under the leadership of Williams, the 2018-2019 Board of Directors will unveil a multi-month plan to implement relevant recommendations.

The 2018-2019 Board of Directors includes:

President – Tycely Williams
President-Elect – Carly Mitchell
Treasurer – Molly Boyl Fromm
Vice Treasurer – Kelly Jones
Secretary – Angie Quinn
Communications & PR Council Director – Tara Andersen
Community Affairs Council Director – Lauren Wilk
Community Placement Council Director, Adult Literacy – Carolyn Wilson
Community Placement Council Director, Cultural Literacy – Colli McKiernan
Community Placement Council Director, Youth & Family Literacy – Ashley Carter
Membership Development Council Director – Kimberly Price
New Membership Council Director – Mandy Asgeirsson
Nominating Committee Chair, Director-at-Large – Amber Huffman
Strategic Planning Committee Chair, Director-at-Large – Carolyn Lowry
Sustainer Committee Chair, Director-At-Large – Erin Cromer
Ways & Means Council Director – Jessica Taylor White

The 2018-2019 Board of Directors will serve from June 1, 2018 to May 31, 2019, during the League’s 106th year of service in the Washington, DC, community.

Williams, JLW’s 2018-2019 President, is the Vice President of Development for YWCA USA. Originally from Birmingham, Alabama, she now resides in Springfield, Virginia. She has been a member of JLW since 2006. In May, the DC City Council honored Williams with a resolution recognizing her historic role as JLW’s 80th President and for becoming the first African American and woman of color to assume the position in JLW history.